Posted by: Michelle Stella Riordan | April 6, 2011

It’s hip to be square…

It’s hip to be square…

  

Sometimes.

Have you ever seen an image in your head, photographed it then look and say, ‘Not what I expected’? 

We all have. 

The difference is that photographers work an image to DEATH!!!!

We don’t stop at one, ten or 50 images sometimes. 

For instance;

this particular morning was heavily overcast. 

I loved the drama dripping from the cloud formation.  I could not drive anywhere to get to a wide open space. 

Turns out kids don’t like to be abandoned.  Who knew?  But I digress…

  

Photography By Exposure www.photobyexposure.com

4×6 Horizontal Image  

 

This was ok.  Nothing great.  But I wanted more. 

So I went vertical. 

  

Photography By Exposure www.photobyexposure.com

 4×6 Vertical Image

  

This gave me more drama…Love Elemental drama.

I was able to crop out unwanted items on the right side.  This gave me texture…layers upon layers of cloud formation. 

It spoke to me.

But I wanted more.

  

Photography By Exposure www.photobyexposure.com

 Square crop 6×6

  

This now reminded me of the Horsehead Nebula in Orion

Astronomy: Orion the Hunter

When I was given my first camera at the tender age of 13…(yes I was tender once), the best tips from a great friend of the family and a professional photographer in NYC told me the best way to understand f/ stops and shutter speeds was to photograph clouds.  My head has always been in the clouds.  I like it there. 

  

Latin Root

 

Translation

 

Example

cumulus

stratus

cirrus

nimbus

 

heap

layer

curl of hair

rain

 

fair weather cumulus

altostratus

cirrus

cumulonimbus

 

Michelle Stratus Riordan

Photography By Exposure

Special Event Photographer

Corporate, Portfolios, Aerials, Family Portraits

Studio and On Location: New York, New Jersey & Virginia

Nimbus Beach Portraits

www.photobyexposure.com

michelle@photobyexposure.com

 

Special Events Photographer www.photobyexposure.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

