Posted by: Michelle Stella Riordan | July 27, 2011

My pet peeve.

My pet peeve.

 

Everyone has one…sometimes two or three of them. Mine: trash left on the beach…especially cigarette butts.

Here is one of the most beautiful sights in the world! The beaches of the New Jersey shore host millions of visitors throughout the summer.

 

20110724-073005.jpg

 

Trash cans are placed near the beach paths; trash and recycling containers.

20110724-073024.jpg

 

I arrive early to all of my beach shoots. I use the time to check out lighting, tide and weather conditions. Then, I scan the sand for trash. I find so many cigarette butts! I actually walk around for a few minutes just to pick up trash and then go to work.

 

Please, please, please take the time to collect
your trash and nasty old cigarette butts.  Our kids walk and play here.  Let alone all the land and sea creatures this affects.  The beach is not a dump nor an ashtray.

 

 

20110724-073039.jpg

What is your pet peeve..?

Michelle Stella Riordan
Photography By Exposure
Www.photobyexposure.com

Special Events Photographer
Corporate, Aerials, Portfolios & Family Photography
Studio and Location: New Jersey to Virginia
Family Beach Portrait Sessions

20110724-074016.jpg

Responses

  1. Michelle, I agree with your pet peeve; that habit is uncouth and dirty. Guess we are lucky at Virginia Beach: If a police officer sees a person drop any kind of trash on the beach or boardwalk, he makes the person pick it up. The alternative is a fine.

  2. Michelle, I agree with your pet peeve; that habit is uncouth and dirty. Guess we are lucky at Virginia Beach: If a police officer sees a person drop any kind of trash on the beach or boardwalk, he makes the person pick it up. The alternative is a fine.

    My super pet peeve is the person who walks up to two people in conversation, and just breaks in and starts talking. How rude!

  3. Agreed! I feel the same way when driving down the road & someone flings their butt out the window. I’ve often thought it would be fun to follow them home & dump a bag of trash in their yard to make a point

  4. Thanks for the opportunity to vent. How about the people who dump their ashtrays out of their cars in the mall parking lots! I’m shocked everytime I see it.

    My pet peeve is drivers who a) drive slower than the other traffic while in the left lane and b) drivers who bypass waiting traffic and then cut in just before the on-ramp or off-ramp.

  5. Michelle,

    Our church (www.gbcmarshall.org) does adopt a highway in Marshall, VA. Of course we make th teens do all the work, but I’ve helped and it amazes me how much trash gets dumped along a 2 mile stretch of road in only a few months time!

    I just can’t understand the mentality of just throwing stuff out the window. Although, the back seat of my car would stay a lot cleaner if I did!

    BTW, what plugin do you use for managing your comments?

    Thanks,
    Jamie


Leave a Reply

Categories

