Posted by: Michelle Stella Riordan | January 9, 2012

My Moment of Zen…

My Moment of Zen…

 

May I Never Lose my Sight or my Vision.

 

Scenic, Nature & Landscape  Photography, Photography By Exposure Sunset with a 36% waxing moon

17-40mm lens: 17mm

 

It has occurred to me that you might get a tad bored of my fascination with the sun.  I recently reacquainted with a high school friend.  A musician. He asked, “How do I make myself available to this?”

The answer came out before I could stop myself. “I sense it”, was the best way I could describe it.  I don’t hear voices or see things.  Not in that sense. 

I hear music at sunrise and music at sunset.  There are days when the music is vibrant and demanding while others when the music is soothing and sweet.

Each color is a note. The clouds become chords. The vision is greater than words. Greater than me. I am humbled.

Scenic, Nature & Landscape  Photography, Photography By Exposure

Same night. Earlier.  The cloud patterns were taking the shape of dinosaurs.

28-135mm lens: 135mm

 

Scenic, Nature & Landscape Photography, Photography By Exposure 

A closer look and a zoom lens reveal a Sun Dog forming. 

Sun Dog:

“A sun dog or sundog, scientific name parhelion (plural parhelia) from Greek παρήλιον (parēlion), meaning “beside the sun”; from παρά (para), meaning “beside”, and ἥλιος (helios), meaning “sun”, also called a mock sun[1] or a phantom sun,[2] is an atmospheric phenomenon that creates bright spots of light in the sky, often on a luminous ring or halo on either side of the sun.[3]

 

Sundogs may appear as a colored patch of light to the left or right of the sun, 22° distant and at the same distance above the horizon as the sun, and in ice halos. They can be seen anywhere in the world during any season, but they are not always obvious or bright. Sundogs are best seen and are most conspicuous when the sun is low.”

~ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sun_dog

 

 

Scenic, Nature & Landscape  Photography, Photography By Exposure

Same photograph; Horizontal. 

The clouds, the angels, the dinosaurs were dancing and flowing toward the light

 

Music in the soul can be heard by the Universe.”

~ Lao Tzu

 

Scenic, Nature & Landscape  Photography, Photography By Exposure

The other side of sunset. Change to a 300mm lens and Ta-dah! An ensemble of color.

 

“Music expresses that which cannot be said and on which it is impossible to be silent.”

~ Victor Hugo

 

Scenic, Nature & Landscape  Photography, Photography By Exposure

Good night Sun. See you bright and early tomorrow.

28-135mm lens: 28mm

 

 What did you see in the clouds?

 

Michelle Stella Riordan

Photography By Exposure

www.photobyexposure.com

 

Special Events Photographer

Corporate, Aerials, Conventions, Portfolios & Family Portraiture

Studio and Location:  New Jersey to Virginia

Family Beach Portraits

For The Loves of Your Life…

 

Special Events Photographer

Leave a Reply

Categories

