Posted by: Michelle Stella Riordan | April 25, 2012

Space Shuttle Discovery…

Dreams do come true…to some extent. 

I was so stinking excited last week.  More excited than my son. 

As a kid, I wanted to be two things; a teacher and an astronaut. I’m not sure how photography trumped both of those but it did. So now I can take photos of airplanes, do aerial photography and share my knowledge. I win.

The Space Shuttle Discovery was coming in to land at Dulles International Airport.  We would have a chance at seeing a piece of history coming to its final display at Udvar Hazy Air & Space Museum.  The only other time I was able to catch even a glimpse of the shuttle taking off in Florida it was from far away.  Very disappointing. 

But not last week.  We were at the right place at the right time.  The only thing better would have been if I were photographing the shuttle on the tarmac of the airport.   I had barely set up my camera and tripod before it made its first pass.  I couldn’t believe how low it was flying. 

Special Event Photographer

It’s all about size.

 

Special Event Photographer

 It flew right over this construction site.  These guys had quite the view.

 Special Event Photographer

        Space Shuttle Discovery on its final pass before landing at Dulles.

 

What did you want to be when you grew up?

 

Michelle Stella Riordan

Photography By Exposure  &  The Event Photo Booth

www.photobyexposure.com

www.theeventphotography.net

 

Anyone can take a picture.  I leave an impression.

 

Special Events Photographer

Corporate, Conventions, Aerials, Portfolios & Family Photography

Studio and Location

Sunrise and Sunset Family Beach Portraits

 

 Commercial Photographer

Leave a Reply

Categories

