Posted by: Michelle Stella Riordan | May 2, 2011

I can see my house from here…

I Can See My House From Here…

 

Turns out I couldn’t .  But, I could see everyone else’s house from way up there.  What an amazing way to see South Jersey or anyplace for that matter. 

Aerial Photography

Not for the faint of heart nor stomach.  The first time I went up to shoot some images I thought might be my last.  We had a windy day that was so full of turbulence.  Add in going round and round a structure to photograph it several times and I thought I was going to toss my cookies.  Never again.  I had a nice chat with myself  (I do this often).  I knew that I was a seasoned roller coaster addict from the Palisades Park and Great Adventure days. 

Having great communication and trust in your pilot has a lot to do with a successful aerial imaging project.  I also needed access to a high winged plane with a window that opens in order to shoot out the window.  You can’t always reschedule these types of sessions so make the most of it.  You must know your camera, your equipment, shoot at a very fast speed, set your focus and have all of the equipment at your fingertips.  ABOVE ALL ELSE:  strap your camera to you and don’t let go!!! 

  

www.photobyexposure.com

Atlantic City, New Jersey

 

This all started because I had this client that wanted a photograph of his communications tower.  I photographed the tower at sunset, at sunrise and then from the air.  I worked that tower.  When it came time to photograph the aerial images of it, the pilot and I worked out a route and added in other locations to photograph.  Our theory was this: we’ll be up there so shoot as many targets as possible. I have many real estate clients so to have a unique photograph of a property makes them very happy. 

 

 www.photobyexposure.com

Longport, New Jersey

 

I have to say this…there is nothing quite like the feeling of being up there and taking aerial photographs.  It makes you feel awesome yet very humble.  We live at the edge of the water and nature has a mind of her own.  I also gained a new level of respect for my pilot, my friend and business mentor, Cris Gleason: Express Sign Center.  www.expresssigncenter.com

 

www.photobyexposure.com

Atlantic County, New Jersey

 

“The surface of the Earth is the shore of the cosmic ocean. From it we have learned most of what we know. Recently, we have waded a little out to sea, enough to dampen our toes or, at most, wet our ankles. The water seems inviting. The ocean calls. So.”  ~ Dr. Carl Sagan

 

What would you like to see photographed from the air?

 

Michelle Stella Riordan

Photography By Exposure

www.photobyexposure.com

michelle@photobyexposure.com

Special Events Photographer

Corporate, Aerial, Portfolios and Family Photography

Studio and Location: New Jersey to Virginia

Family Beach photographs

Special Events photographer


Responses

  1. 2 words AWE SOME!


Leave a comment

Categories